About Us

Composition:  18 members - Mayor and Council shall appoint 2 each.
Created:  By motion on April 18, 1994 and Resolution 95-R-046 dated March 6, 1995 adopting
                 the bylaws.
General Powers and Duties:   To identify the needs and concerns of women by developing and
                 accessing strategies including community outreach activities, public-private partnerships,
                 coordination of community and state resources, to recommend assistance and services
                 to improve the status of women in Laredo; and to develop a Hall of Fame for women and
                 programs to honor and promote women during Women's History Month in March.
Meeting Time and Place:  The Commission shall meet once a month or at the call of the Chair.
                 The time and place will be designated by the Chair.
By-Laws:  Click Here to View
History:  Click Here to View
Staff Liaison:  
Tiffany Franklin   /   (956) 791-7308   /   tfranklin@ci.laredo.tx.us

Current Members
Representing the Mayor Pete Saenz
Dolores Boswell Elizabeth Murillo Tueme
Representing Cm. Rudy Gonzalez - District I
Representing the Cm. Esteban Rangel - District II
Monika Cavazos - Chair VACANT
Representing the Cm. Alejandro "Alex" Perez, III - District III
Patricia Garcia
LInda Ramirez
Representing the Cm. Juan Narvaez - District IV
Maria Elena Guantos Esther Firova
Representing the Cm. Roque Vela, Jr.- District V
Alice Herrera Frances Wawroski
Representing the Cm. Charlie San Miguel- District VI
Diana Rodriguez Donna Magnon - Vice Chair
Representing the Cm. George Altgelt- District VII
Elia Guevara Amber Holmes
Representing the Cm. Roberto Balli- District VIII
Sylvia Garza Palumbo VACANT