City of Laredo

City Council Meeting


City Council Chambers

1110 Houston Street

Laredo, Texas  78040

June 6, 2000

5:30 p.m.


I.          Call to order.


            With a quorum present Mayor Pro Tempore Montalvo called the meeting to order.


II.        Pledge of Allegiance.


            Mayor Pro Tempore Montalvo led in the Pledge of Allegiance.


III.       Roll Call


            In Attendance:

            Elizabeth G.  Flores                                          Mayor

            Louis H.  Bruni,                                                Councilmember, District II

            John C.  Galo,                                                  Councilmember, District III

            Johnny Amaya,                                                 Councilmember, District IV

            Joe A.  Guerra,                                                 Councilmember, District VI

            Mario G.  Alvarado,                                         Councilmember, District VII

            Consuelo “Chelo” Montalvo,                            Mayor Pro Tempore District VIII

            Gustavo Guevara,                                             City Secretary

            Cynthia Collazo,                                               Acting City Manager

            Larry Dovalina,                                                 Acting City Manager

            Jaime Flores,                                                    City Attorney


Motion to excuse Mayor Elizabeth G.  Flores, Cm.  Alfredo Agredano and Cm.  Eliseo Valdez, Jr.


            Moved:  Cm.  Galo

            Second:  Cm.  Bruni

            For:  5                                      Against:  0                                            Abstain:  0


IV.       Resolutions


2000-R-088  Canvassing the returns of the Special Runoff Election held on June 3, 2000

          and approving the results.


Jaime Flores, City Attorney, announced that the City Secretary was served with a Temporary Restraining Order prohibiting the City Council from Canvassing the District VIII Election returns between Juan Ramirez and Canuta “Tita” Quintanilla.


           The City Secretary publicly read the election results.




            District VII                                           Total Votes                              Majority


            Mario G.  Alvarado                              486                                          34.83%

            Jose Alberto Valdez, Jr.                        909                                          65.16%


            Motion to approve Resolution # 2000-R-088.


            Moved:  Cm.  Bruni

            Second:  Cm.  Galo

            For:  5                                      Against:  0                                Abstain:  0


V.        Adjournment                                                                                                  


            Motion to adjourn.


            Moved:   Cm.  Alvarado

            Second:   Cm.  Amaya

            For:  5                                                  Against:  0                                            Abstain:  0


I hereby certify that the above minutes contained in pages one and two are true, complete and correct proceedings of the City Council Special Meeting held on the 6th day of June, 2000.





                                                                                    Gustavo Guevara, Jr.

                                                                                    City Secretary